Nazionale A

The final 23-man squad list for Italy vs. Lithuania, Chiesa and Sensi leave the group

The Azzurri have always won in the Emilian city, while Italy have five wins and two draws in seven games against Lithuania

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

The final 23-man squad list for Italy vs. Lithuania, Chiesa and Sensi leave the group

The third and final game of this international window is upon us and, after draws against Bulgaria and Switzerland, Italy take on Lithuania with the aim of getting back to winning ways and taking three precious points in qualifying for Qatar 2022.

Roberto Mancini has released his final 23-man squad list for the game; Federico Chiesa and Stefano Sensi are both unavailable and were omitted, they have no left the group to return to their respective clubs.

This is the Azzurri’s fourth game in Reggio Emilia, were they beat Lithuania 4-0 in November 1995 in the first of the three already played. They also beat Israel 1-0 in September 2017 and Poland 2-0 in November 2020. Italy are the clear favourites over Lithuania, who are currently ranked 134th in the world. In seven previous meetings between the two, Italy have won five and drawn two, including the 2-0 win in Vilnius on 31 March of this year.

Squad list and shirt numbers for the Lithuania game

Goalkeepers: 21 Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint Germain), 22 Pierluigi Gollini (Tottenham), 1 Salvatore Sirigu (Genoa);
Defenders: 15 Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), 13 Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), 4 Cristiano Biraghi (Fiorentina), 19 Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), 17 Davide Calabria (Milan), 3 Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), 2 Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), 16 Alessandro Florenzi (Milan), 6 Rafael Toloi (Atalanta);
Midfielders: 18 Nicolò Barella (Inter), 7 Gaetano Castrovilli (Fiorentina), 23 Bryan Cristante (Roma), 8 Frello Jorge Luiz Jorginho (Chelsea), 5 Manuel Locatelli (Juventus), 12 Matteo Pessina (Atalanta);
Forwards: 11 Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), 10 Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), 20 Moise Kean (Juventus), 9 Giacomo Raspadori (Sassuolo), 14 Gianluca Scamacca (Sassuolo).