Euro 2020

Daniele Orsato selected as one of 18 European Championship referees

The referee from Schio will have Alessandro Giallatini and Fabiano Preti as his assistants. For the first time, a female official has been selected for a men’s European Championship

Thursday, April 22, 2021

Daniele Orsato selected as one of 18 European Championship referees

Daniele Orsato will officiate at Euro 2020. The referee from Schio is the only Italian to be included in the list of 18 officials that will take charge of matches during the tournament, which will begin with Italy vs. Turkey on 11 June at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome and finish on 11 July in London. Joining Orsato will be Alessandro Giallatini and Fabiano Preti, who will perform the role of linesmen, while the VAR officials representing Italy will be Marco Di Bello, Massimiliano Irrati, Filippo Meli and Paolo Valeri. Davide Massa and Stefano Alassio will be VAR assistants.

As part of an exchange programme within the framework of the cooperation agreement between UEFA and the South American Football Confederation CONMEBOL, a South American referee will join the European group of referees and a European will travel to South America for the first time ever. Argentine referee Fernando Rapallini and his assistants will join the selected European referees for EURO 2020, while a Spanish refereeing team led by Jesús Gil Manzano will be part of the selected CONMEBOL referees for the Copa América 2021 in Argentina and Colombia.

Another first is the fact that a female official has been selected for a men’s European Championship. Stéphanie Frappart (France), who has officiated at several matches in UEFA’s men’s club and national team competitions this season, has been selected as support match official and will act as a fourth official. Each refereeing team will consist of a referee, two assistant referees, a fourth official, a reserve assistant referee at the stadium and a team of four video match officials.

Ahead of Euro 2020, a course for all referees, referee assistants and video match officials will take place in Istanbul, Turkey, from 10 to 13 May. Referees, referee assistants and support referees will have their base camp in Istanbul from 7 June until the completion of the quarter-finals, after which the remaining match officials will move to London for the final three matches.

The 18 European Championship referees:

Felix Brych (Germany)
Cüneyt Çakır (Turkey)
Carlos Del Cerro Grande (Spain)
Andreas Ekberg (Sweden)
Orel Grinfeeld (Israel)
Ovidiu Alin Hategan (Romania)
Sergei Karasev (Russia)
Istvan Kovacs (Romania)
Bjorn Kuipers (Netherlands)
Danny Makkelie (Netherlands)
Antonio Miguel Mateu Lahoz (Spain)
Michael Oliver (England)
Daniele Orsato (Italy)
Artur Manuel Ribeiro Soares Dias (Portugal)
Daniel Siebert (Germany)
Anthony Taylor (England)
Clément Turpin (France)
Slavko Vinčić (Slovenia)